Call Us Today – 770-213-5171

How Much Car Insurance Do I Need in Georgia?

Home » How Much Car Insurance Do I Need in Georgia?

April 28, 2022

Written by: admin


By law, most states require that drivers must have liability auto insurance coverage to operate an automobile. Georgia has specific requirements that are stated below. Read on to find out how much car insurance you need.

What Is Liability Auto Insurance?

There are many forms of auto insurance, but liability auto insurance is the only form that is usually required by state laws. Liability coverage pays for property damage and injuries to another person that have been caused by an accident in which the insured individual is at fault. 

There are two primary components of liability coverage: property damage and bodily injury. Here is what each entails.

Property Damage

The property damage component of your liability coverage will pay for damage caused to another person’s property. For example, if you damage another person’s vehicle in an accident, your liability coverage will pay for repairs or replacement of that vehicle. The property damage component could also cover damage to things that are not vehicles, such as a yard, a light pole, or other property. 

Bodily Injury

The bodily injury component of your liability coverage will pay for injuries you’ve caused to another person. If someone is injured in an accident in which you are at fault, you are responsible for their medical bills and lost wages, as well as the pain and suffering they’ve experienced. Your liability coverage helps you cover these costs up to a specific amount. 

Is Liability Auto Insurance Required In Georgia?

Yes, you are required to have liability coverage to drive in Georgia. This law exists to protect drivers from uninsured motorists.

How Much Liability Coverage Do I Need In Georgia?

Under Georgia law, drivers are not permitted to operate a vehicle unless it is covered by liability insurance. The required amount is $25,000 for bodily injuries related to accidents that only injure one person and $50,000 for accidents wherein more than one person sustained physical injuries or death. There is also a minimum requirement of $25,000 in property damage coverage. These amounts are referred to as minimum limits, and they provide a basic level of protection for people who suffer personal injuries in car accidents. 

Find Auto Insurance Today!

Get the car insurance coverage you need by contacting a licensed insurance agent today! You can reach us at 770-213-5171. Call now to receive a free quote on coverage in your area.

Auto Insurance / By Magnolia Insurance Agency

Contact Us Today – 770-213-5171

Stephen Dufour
Owner, Magnolia Insurance Agency
Office: 770-213-5171
Fax: 770-338-6932

Complete the inquiry form below and a Magnolia Insurance Representative will contact you in a timely manner.

Thank you for your message. It has been sent.
There was an error trying to send your message. Please try again later.
Go to Top